2010 Summit

The 11th Annual Legal Reform Summit was held on October 27, 2010 in Washington, DC.

Throughout the day, ILR featured speakers and panels on key topics (see the agenda below) and unveiled a number of new research pieces which promise to advance the legal reform debate, including:

At the Summit, Kenneth R. Feinberg presented an alternative model to traditional litigation for settling claims resulting from major disasters such as the Gulf of Mexico oil spill.

Drawing from his roles as Independent Claims Adjuster for the BP Deepwater Horizon Spill Disaster Victim Compensation Fund and former manager of the 9/11 Victims Compensation Fund, Feinberg headlined the day-long Summit that focused on lawsuit abuse during a major economic downturn.

In addition, the event featured the 2010 Legal Reform Awards which honor individuals and organizations whose outstanding work has contributed to improving our nation's civil justice system.  The 2010 recipients included State Sen. John Thrasher and State Rep. Eric Eisnaugle, both of Florida, for legislative achievement, as well as the law firm of Forman, Perry, Watkins, Krutz & Tardy for organizational achievement.  The Civil Justice Association of California won the alliance award, while Robert P. Hartwig, Ph.D., president of the Insurance Information Institute, won an award for his important research accomplishments.


8:15 a.m. – 8:45 a.m. Registration and Continental Breakfast
8:45 a.m. – 9:00 a.m. Welcoming Remarks 
  •   Lisa A. Rickard, President, U.S. Chamber Institute for Legal Reform
9:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m. Move to the Head of the Class — The Latest Developments in Class Action Litigation

This panel featured a discussion of hot issues in class action litigation, including: employment litigation, Dukes v. Wal-Mart Stores and the use of federal rule 23(b)(2) in class certification; cy pres; and third party financing.

  • Theodore J. Boutrous, Jr., Partner, Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP
  • George J. Krueger,Partner, Blank Rome LLP
  • John H. Beisner, Partner, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP

Introduced and Moderated by Mary H. Terzino, Counsel to The Dow Chemical Company

10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. Objection! Focusing on Fraud and Abuse in Litigation

This panel discussed instances of fraud and abuse highlighting recent cases such as Illinois Central Railroad and Dole v. Tellez.

  • Daniel J. Mulholland, Partner, Forman Perry Watkins Krutz & Tardy LLP
  • James L. Stengel, Managing Director, Litigation Division, Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP
  • Jonathan C. Drimmer, Partner, Steptoe & Johnson, LLP

Introduced and Moderated by Harold H. Kim, Senior Vice President for Legal Reform Initiatives, U.S. Chamber Institute for Legal Reform

11:00 a.m. – 11:15 a.m. Transition Break
11:15 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. The Spillover Effect – Liability and Future Ramifications Beyond the Gulf Oil Spill

This panel examined legislation and liability issues stemming from the Deepwater Horizon oil spill.

  •  E. Donald Elliot, Chair, Environmental, Health and Safety Department, Willkie Farr & Gallagher LLP
  • Paul S. Atkins, Managing Director, Patomak Partners LLC
  • Mark Tapscott, Editorial page editor, The Washington Examiner

Introduced and Moderated byC. Allen  Foster, Shareholder, Greenberg Traurig LLP

12:00 p.m. – 12:15 p.m. Transition Break
12:15 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. Annual Legal Reform Awards Luncheon

Special remarks by Thomas J. Donohue, President and Chief Executive Officer, U.S. Chamber of Commerce

Keynote Address:

Kenneth R. Feinberg, Feinberg Rozen, LLP

"Unique Responses to Unprecedented Disasters:

How the Law Copes"

Introduced by Thomas J. Donohue, President and Chief Executive Officer, U.S. Chamber of Commerce

2010 Legal Reform Awards

  • State Leadership Award
  • Organization Award
  • Alliance Award
  • Research Award

Presented by Lisa A. Rickard, President, U.S. Chamber Institute for Legal Reform

1:30 p.m. – 1:45 p.m. Transition Break
1:45 p.m. – 2:45 p.m. Getting our Financial House in Order: the Role of Attorneys General in Financial Services

This panel examined the sweeping new Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act, its inclusion of enhanced enforcement powers for the state attorneys general, the interplay between the new Bureau of Consumer Financial Protection and the states, as well as the traditional role of state attorneys general in enforcing consumer protection laws.

  • The Honorable Roy A. Cooper, Attorney General of North Carolina, President, National Association of Attorneys General
  • The Honorable Greg Zoeller, Attorney General of Indiana
  • Andrew J. Pincus, Partner, Mayer Brown

Introduced and Moderated by Joe Nocera, Business Columnist, New York Times, Co Author "All The Devils Are Here: The Hidden History of The Financial Crisis"

2:45 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. Transition Break
3:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. Navigating a Global Marketplace — Foreign Corrupt Practices Act and Potential Reforms

Former U.S. Attorney General Michael B. Mukasey moderated a discussion on the Foreign Corrupt Practices Act and its impact on U.S. global competitiveness, enforcement activities by the Department of Justice and the Securities and Exchange Commission, and what, if any, reforms could be implemented.

  • Cheryl J. Scarboro, Chief of the Foreign Corrupt Practices Act Unit in the Division of Enforcement, Securities and Exchange Commission
  • George J. Terwilliger III, Partner, White & Case
  • Andrew Weissmann, Partner, Jenner & Block LLP
  • John S. (Jay) Darden, Partner, Patton Boggs LLP

Introduced and Moderated by The Honorable Michael B. Mukasey, Partner, Debevoise & Plimpton LLP, former Attorney General of the United States.

4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.

The Political Landscape and 2010 Elections 

This panel featured renowned political strategists Ed Gillespie and Terry McAuliffe, the former Chairmen of the Republican National Committee and the Democratic National Committee, respectively.

  • Ed Gillespie, Former Counselor to the President and Former Chairman of the Republican National Committee
  • Terry McAuliffe, Former Chairman of the Democratic National Committee, Chairman of Hillary Clinton for President

Introduced and moderated by: Morton M. Kondracke, Executive Director and Columnist, Roll Call

5:00 p.m. – 5:30 p.m. Networking Reception & Giveaway


ILR thanks the sponsors of the 2010 Legal Reform Summit:

The Hill

Akin Gump


Mayer Brown

  • 2017 Legal Reform Summit Recap